Boards / Commissions

The Mayor and City Council have authority to appoint Grimes citizens to city boards and commissions. Board and commission members advise and make recommendations to the City Council on specific policy issues.
The City of Grimes currently has two vacant positions on the Board of Adjustment. The Board meets on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 5:30 pm. via Zoom. To apply, please submit the application and your resume to to Grimes City Hall, 1010 NE Harvey Street, Grimes, IA 50111.
Planning and Zoning Commission
Meets on the first Tuesday of each month, at City Hall, 5:30 p.m.
Scott Almeida, Courtney Strutt Todd, Craig Patterson, Danielle Smid, Russ Lickteig 
Park and Recreation Advisory Board
Meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month, at the Grimes Community Complex, 5:30 p.m.
Darla Eastman, James Abens, Vacant, Ross Junge, April Heitland

Board of Adjustment
Meets on the third Wednesday of each month, as needed, at City Hall, 5:30 pm
Thomas Letsch, Matthew Moran, Charles Strutt, Trevor Brown, Vacant  
(The deadline for turning in applications for the BOA is the 25th day of each month.) 
Library Board of Trustees
Meets the third Tuesday of each month, in the library meeting room.
Erin Leifker, Chuck Strutt, Ann Haugland, Gary Schroeder, Lynh Patterson
Public Health and Safety Advisory Board
Meets on the first Thursday of each month, at City Hall, 5:30 p.m.
Mike Grove, Renita Darrah, Kathy Leinenkugel
Additional Representatives: Polk County Sheriff & Fire Chief Jim Clark
Tree Board
Sally Worley, Greg Hayes, Russ Lickteig, Vacant, Lee Goldsmith, Mark Dungan