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121.01  DEFINITIONS.  For use in this chapter, the following terms are defined: 
 

1. “Cigarette” means any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco, or 
any substitute for tobacco, irrespective of size or shape and irrespective of 
tobacco or any substitute for tobacco being flavored, adulterated or mixed 
with any other ingredient, where such roll has a wrapper or cover made of 
paper or any other material.  However, this definition is not to be construed 
to include cigars. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.1) 
 

2.  “Place of Business” means any place where cigarettes are sold, stored or kept
 for the purpose of sale or consumption by a retailer. 

 
3.  “Retailer” means every person who sells, distributes or offers for sale for  
consumption, or possesses for the purpose of sale for consumption, cigarettes, 
irrespective of the quantity or amount or the number of sales. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.1) 
 

4.  “Tobacco Products” means the following:  cigars; little cigars; cheroots; 
stogies; periques; granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed and other 
smoking tobacco; snuff; snuff flour; cavendish; plug and twist tobacco; fine-cut 
and other chewing tobaccos; shorts or refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings and 
sweepings of tobacco; and other kinds and forms of tobacco prepared in such 
manner as to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a pipe or otherwise, or for 
both chewing and smoking, but does not mean cigarettes. 

 
121.02  PERMIT REQUIRED.  It is unlawful for any person, other than a holder of a 
retail permit, to sell cigarettes at retail and no holder shall distribute, sell or solicit the  
the sale of any cigarettes within the City without a valid permit for each place of 
business.  The permit shall be displayed publicly in the place of business so that is can 
be seen easily by the public.  No permit shall be issued to a minor. 
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121.03  APPLICATION.  A completed application on forms provided by the State 
Department of Revenue and Finance and accompanied by the required fee shall be filed 
at least five (5) days prior to the last regular meeting of the Council in June.  If a 
renewal application is not timely filed, and a special Council meeting is called to act on 
the application, the costs of such special meeting shall be paid by the applicant. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.13) 
 

121.04  FEES.  The fee for a retail cigarette permit shall be as follows: 
(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.13) 

 
 FOR PERMITS GRANTED DURING:   FEE: 
  
 July, August or September--------------------------------- $75.00 
 October, November or December------------------------- $56.25 
 January, February or March-------------------------------- $37.50 
 April, May or June-------------------------------------------- $18.75 
 
121.05  ISSUANCE AND EXPIRATION.  Upon proper application and payment of the 
required fee, a permit shall be issued.  Each permit issued shall describe clearly the 
place of business for which it is issued and shall be nonassignable.  All permits expire 
on June 30 of each year. 
 
121.06  REFUNDS.  A retailer may surrender an unrevoked permit and receive a refund 
from the City, except during April, May or June, in accordance with the schedule of 
refunds as provided in Section 453A.13 of the Code of Iowa. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.13) 
 

121.07  PERSONS UNDER LEGAL AGE.  No person shall sell, give or otherwise supply 
any tobacco, tobacco products or cigarettes to any person under eighteen (18) years of 
age.  The provision of this section includes prohibiting a minor from purchasing 
cigarettes or tobacco products from a vending machine. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.2 and 453A.36[6]) 
 
121.08  PERMIT SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION.  If a retailer or employee of a retailer 
violates the provisions of Section 121.07, the Council shall, after written notice and 
hearing, and in addition to the standard penalty, assess the following: 
 

1.  For a first violation, the violator shall be assessed a civil penalty in the 
amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00).  Failure to pay the civil penalty as 
ordered under this subsection shall result in automatic suspension of the permit 
for a period of fourteen (14) days. 
 
2.  For a second violation within a period of two (2) years, the violator’s permit 
shall be suspended for a period of thirty (30) days. 
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3.  For a third violation within a period of five (5) years, the violator’s permit 
shall be suspended for a period of sixty (60) days. 
 
4.  For a fourth violation within a period of five (5) years, the violator’s permit 
shall be revoked. 

 
The Clerk shall give ten (10) days’ written notice to the retailer by mailing a copy of the 
notice to the place of business as it appears on the application for a permit.  The notice 
shall state the reason for the contemplated action and the time and place at which the 
retailer may appear and be heard. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.22) 
 

121.09  EFFECT OF REVOCATION.  If a permit is revoked, no new permit shall be 
issued to the retailed for the place of business for one (1) year after the date of 
revocation unless good cause to the contrary is shown to the Council. 

(Code of Iowa, Sec. 453A.22[3]) 
 

121.10  RETAILERS SELLING THROUGH SELF SERVICE DISPLAYS.  No retailer shall sell 
cigarettes or tobacco products in a quantity less than a carton, through the use of self-
service displays. 
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